A Fat Loss Diet That Works

Welcome! Today I’m going to be discussing how you can lose body fat and tone up whilst being healthy and happy with the food you eat.

I recently followed a Ketogenic diet and lost almost one stone in the 6 weeks of this diet! The “keto” diet, as it is known, is a restrictive and very low carb diet which causes the body to burn fat much more quickly than if eating normally (similar to Atkins).

The aim of a ketogenic diet is to put the body into ketosis. This means the body will break down fat to use for energy instead of carbohydrate (as there will be much fewer carbs eaten)

I generally don’t follow diets that have an end, whether it be 6/8/12 weeks, as usually the person dieting just goes back to their previous eating habits. But, ketosis works, and you do not need to go back to a ‘regular’ diet. Of course the occasional 20 inch pizza with chicken wings, garlic bread, 2L of Coke and tub of Ben and Jerrys will be fine if it is only once in a while!

Either way, the ketogenic diet 100% works.

The photograph below is me, the left is before Keto, the right is 6 weeks later.
(newspaper for date reference, not to cover my genitals)

IMG_6676[1]

Honestly, I wasn’t 100% strict. I would say I followed the diet 60% of the time. I still drank alcohol on weekends, still went out for Nandos and had Chinese Takeaways but I restricted myself and cut down on the carb content. When I ate Nandos I chose 1/2 Chicken and Chargrilled Veg (no Chips!) and water. For Chinese I would get Spare Ribs & Chicken in Black Bean Sauce (no Rice!).

This diet is about eating fairly normally, but without the carbs. It is easy to follow and you will see differences following it.

My list of NO’s

  • Potatoes
  • Rice
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Cereal
  • Alcohol
  • Sweets/ Sugar
  • Fizzy Drinks (only water allowed)
  • Fruit (even natural sugars contribute to carbs)

 

My list of YES’s

  • Meat (yes, even Bacon!!!)
  • Dairy Products (Cheese, Milk, Yogurt)
  • Vegetables
  • Nuts (Peanuts, Walnuts)
  • Eggs (vital for nutrients)
  • Avocados
  • Fatty Fish (Salmon, Tuna)
  • Olive Oil, Salt & Pepper

The main difference between my NO’s and my YES’s are that the first list contains high carbohydrate content. The second list is low carb, high protein and natural fats which the body needs.

 

In my next post I will offer a detailed meal plan and advice for what to eat for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner (as well as some snacks to get you through the day!). You do not have to follow the keto diet, I will also write a more relaxed healthy one that is much easier to follow.

Until next time!
Jack,
Hogg Blog

 

 

Leave a Reply

