Lets Talk Food! – Ketogenic Diet Plan

Hi! Welcome to Hogg’s Blog.

In my previous post I discussed a diet that I followed earlier this year – the Ketogenic Diet (Keto for short). Simply put, this diet is a carb restricted, high protein and high fat diet that causes the body to burn off fat very quickly. I lost almost one stone from following the diet and added some much needed muscle! (alongside a training regime).

The changes I made to my diet were pretty simple. When eating at home and cooking, I cooked food that is low in carbs, for example scrambled eggs and salmon. When eating in restaurants I chose low carb options, for example vegetables instead of fries.

Your nutrient intake should be approximately 70% fats, 25% protein, and 5% carbohydrate.

This plan is going to be a strict diet which is not for everyone. I will also post a healthy diet that is not so “extreme” for a more casual approach to fat loss, in a separate post.

Time for the food you can eat! In a later post I will offer some great recipes made with the food listed below.

Breakfast

  • Scrambled/ Fried or Poached Eggs
  • Grilled Bacon
  • Sausages
  • Smoked Salmon
  • Fried Tomatos
  • Bananas
  • Full Fat Natural Greek Yoghurt
  • Avocado
  • Berries (Strawberries & Raspberries)

Lunch

  • Fish (Salmon, Tuna, Trout, Shrimp, Sardines)
  • Chicken
  • Turkey
  • Boiled Eggs
  • Leafy Green Salad
  • Avocado
  • Nuts (Peanuts, Walnuts, Pecans)


Dinner

  • Red Meat (Ham, Steak, Sausages, Gammon, Lamb)
  • Beef Burger (no bun)
  • Chicken
  • Turkey
  • Vegetables (Broccoli, Tomatos, Carrots, Peppers, Green Beans)
  • Omelette
  • Cheese, Cream, Butter

Snacks

  • Dark Chocolate (80%+ ideal)
  • Peanuts & Walnuts
  • Pumpkin Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Flax Seeds
  • Full Fat Natural Greek Yoghurt
  • Peanut Butter

Drinks

  • Water
  • Black Coffee
  • Green Tea, Peppermint Tea, English Breakfast Tea (no sugar)
  • Soda Water

 

If you are also going to the gym whilst following this diet, which I highly recommend to burn even more fat, you will need some carbs after training for energy. I have mine in the form of a protein shake.

Post Workout Shake
300ml Semi Skimmed Milk
1x Banana
1 Scoop of Whey Protein (I use Vanilla Flavour)
70-80 grams of Porridge Oats
1 Large teaspoon of Peanut Butter

Put everything in a blender and blend it up! The concoction is pretty thick due to the Oats but it tastes really good! This shake will be the only serious carbs consumed.

IMG_7100[1]

 

There you have it! The Keto diet covered. It worked well for me and I will be going back on the diet very shortly and discussing my progress.

In my next post I will offer a more casual healthy diet that anyone can follow!

Thanks for sticking around,

Jack,
Hogg Blog

 

Leave a Reply

